by gogogreta


Just a brief snap shot of yoga

Patanjali is the writer of the yoga sutras. They were believed to be written 1700 years ago and contain 195 sutras. These sutras are intertwined with many Indian philosophical systems including Hinduism, Jainism and Buddhism.

I find hatha yoga developed by B.K.S. Iyengar very fascinating. The use of blocks and bolsters and straps allow the new practitioner to attain poses and learn where they can progress if they continue their practice. Also….the best class I have ever attended was an advanced yoga class in college where we learned how to use bolsters. The entire class went silent and I don’t remember where the hour went because I was so entirely relaxed. I even forgot about the noisy metal heater behind me. Iyengar yoga is based on Patanjali’s eight limbs of yoga.

1. Yama: there are 5 yamas outlining ethical standards of how you conduct yourself

2. Niyama: there are 5 outlining self discipline

3. Asana: the body is the temple of the spirit, asanas are what is also known as poses which develop concentration

4.Pranayama: the breath

5.Pratyahara: withdrawal from the outside world and developing inner strength

6.Dharana: recognizing internal distractions

7.Dhyana: being entirely aware with uninterrupted concentration

8.Samadahi: peace